Skip to main content

Investing in Africa

Mitigating risk in Africa

This report explores some of the legal, political and regulatory risks of investing in certain jurisdictions in Africa and identifies tools available to investors to minimise those risks, including local legislation and international treaties which afford investors certain protections by the host state in which they are investing.

We focus on the investment landscape in eleven jurisdictions which receive significant amounts of foreign investment (Algeria, Egypt, Ghana, Kenya, Madagascar, Morocco, Nigeria, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda and Ethiopia). We also discuss two key regional, multilateral organisations SADC (South Africa Development Community) and OHADA (Organisation for the Harmonisation of Business Law in Africa) which similarly offer investors certain incentives and protections.